ISM Code

Who has to comply with the ISM (Management for the safe operation of ships) Code?

The ISM Code is made mandatory under SOLAS Chapter IX - Management for the safe operation of ships. It is applicable to the following type of ships engaged on international voyages:

  1. From 1 July 1998 Passenger ships and high-speed craft passenger, and oil/chemical/gas tankers, bulk carriers and high-speed craft cargo ship of 500 gross tonnage and above.
  2. From 1 July 2002 Other cargo ships and mobile offshore drilling units (MODU) of 500 gross tonnage and above.

Companies are required to develop, implement and maintain a safety management system (SMS) in accordance with the provisions of the ISM Code. The SMS must be implemented in their shore-based organization (main and branch offices) and on their ships.

Who is authorized to carry out ISM certification on Singapore ships and their companies?

MPA has authorised the following classification societies to conduct company and ship board ISM audits and to issue Documents of Compliance (DOC) and Safety Management Certificates (SMC) to the companies and their Singapore ships:

  1. ABS Pacific
  2. Bureau Veritas
  3. China Classification Society
  4. DNV GL
  5. Korean Register of Shipping
  6. Lloyds Register
  7. Nippon Kaiji Kyokai
  8. Registro Italiano Navale

Shipowners or companies may apply directly to any of these authorised classification societies to carry out the company or shipboard ISM verification and certification.