Who has to comply with the International Ship and Port Facility Security (ISPS) Code?

The ISPS Code, which is made mandatory by Chapter XI-2 (Special measures to enhance maritime security) of the SOLAS Convention, applies to the following types of ships engaged on international voyages:

  1. passenger ships including high-speed passenger craft;
  2. cargo ships, including high-speed craft of 500 gross tonnage and upwards; and
  3. mobile offshore drilling units.

SOLAS Chapter XI-2 and the ISPS Code also apply to port facilities serving such ships engaged on international voyages.

Who is authorized to conduct verification and certification for Singapore ships under the International Ship and Port Facility Security (ISPS) Code?

MPA has authorised the following classification societies (or RSO) to approve ship security plans and to issue International Ship Security Certificates (ISSC) to Singapore ships:

  1. ABS Pacific
  2. Bureau Veritas
  3. China Classification Society
  4. Det Norske Veritas
  5. Germanischer Lloyd
  6. Korean Register of Shipping
  7. Lloyds Register
  8. Nippon Kaiji Kyokai
  9. Registro Italiano Navale

More details of these RSO for ship security can also be found at MPA's website.